October 26, 2021

Science

The world of science and technology

Watch the Launch of Northrop Grumman’s Resupply Mission to the International Space Station

1 min read

Join us on Tues., Aug. 10 at 5:30 p.m. EDT (21:30 UTC) for live coverage of the launch of Northrop Grumman’s Antares rocket and Cygnus cargo spacecraft. Liftoff from our Wallops Flight Facility in Virginia is scheduled at 6:01 p.m. EDT (22:01 UTC). This Cygnus is named the SS Ellison Onizuka, in honor of the first Asian American astronaut. 

What’s on board the spacecraft? Over 8,200 pounds (3,720 kg) of research, technology demonstrations, and crew supplies for the astronauts living and working on the station. Experiments heading to space will demonstrate 3D printing with dust, use engineered tissue to study muscle loss, analyze growth of slime mold, and more: https://youtu.be/R-jc-dTdK5g